DUI in Tallahassee? Put Tallahassee DUI Defense Lawyer Joseph Bodiford on Your Side Today!
by Tallahassee DUI attorney Joe Bodiford
If you have been arrested, it is important to call a DUI attorney right away, as you may only have 10 days to launch your defense. The "Ten-Day Rule" goes into effect when someone is arrested for a DUI. There are really two separate cases that arise: the court case, where a person's liberty is at stake, and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV) case.
If you have been arrested for DUI, and you refused to take a breath, blood or urine test, OR if you took the test and your result is 0.08% or higher, you have only 10 days to request a special hearing with the FDHSMV to save your license. Failure to request a timely hearing will result in a penalty of at least a 6-month suspension (up to an 18-month suspension) of your Florida driving privileges. For more information, consult a Leon County DUI lawyer, serving North Florida, at Bodiford Law.
In deciding which defenses could apply in your case, your DUI lawyer will look at all the evidence produced by the police and interview witnesses. Some common defenses seen in DUI cases include:
Driving Observation Defenses:
The prosecutor always relies (sometimes exclusively) on the arresting police officer's testimony about how a DUI suspect was driving, including:
Very slow speeds
Uneven speeds (very fast, then very slow)
Weaving from one side of a lane to the other
Crossing the center line of the highway
Running a red light
Hesitation in going through a green light
A knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer will argue that there are many different explanations for these driving behaviors that do not have anything to do with being alcohol-impaired.
Many of the defenses against DUI charges require a lawyer's expertise and experience. If you've been charged with DUI, it's important to contact a reliable law firm right away. Our Tallahassee DUI lawyer is there when you need us, and are willing to fight for your rights.
Contact an Expert DUI Defense Attorney in Tallahassee Attorney Now
At Bodiford Law, we are dedicated to the relentless defense of your rights. Joe Bodiford, a Florida Bar board certified lawyer and DUI attorney in Tallahassee, is a zealous and resourceful advocate who relies on his many years of experience in the courtroom to argue the clients' case for a wide range of criminal practice areas. Contact Joe Bodiford today online or at 850-222-4LAW.
Underage DUI: We Understand that Young People Make Mistakes
Most people are aware that the BAC (blood alcohol content) for a driver who is over 21 is .08%. What many people may not know, especially those who are underage, is that the level for legal intoxication is 02% if the driver is under the legal drinking age. The consequences increase in severity if the BAC was over .05%, and will become more severe yet if the BAC is over .08%, the “normal” intoxication level.
Once an individual has a DUI conviction on their record, any subsequent charges mean they will be facing harsher penalties. There is a five year “look back” period that determines whether a Tallahassee DUI charge is considered a second offense or not. Five years is a long time, especially when you are in your late teens or early twenties. You don’t want a DUI conviction hanging over your head that long!
Most young adults have never been in trouble with the law before. The possible penalties and technical language used in criminal proceedings can be scary and hard to understand. In addition, no one wants to feel like their adult lives have been jeopardized before they even begun. We understand that young people make mistakes, and we don’t feel that you should be facing the maximum consequences when you did not fully realize the impact your decisions could have on your life. Our goal is to provide you with a vigorous defense so that you can put your underage DUI charge in the past where it belongs.
A Comprehensive DUI Defense Strategy
Underage drinkers may be facing more than just charges of driving under the influence. Numerous other charges are frequently made in conjunction with DUI, such as:
Child endangerment law violations
Distribution of alcohol to minors
Minor in possession
Moving violation citations
Possession of false identification (having a fake ID)
Your high school or college may also require you to attend a disciplinary hearing if you are also a student. In other words, underage DUI is a big deal and can impact many aspects of your life. It’s not like a final exam, where you can cram at the last minute and experience a successful outcome or retake the course next semester. We are prepared to create a comprehensive defense strategy for all the charges you may be facing.
Having a criminal record when you are just starting out in life can permanently limit what you are able to achieve as an adult. We are happy to provide free and confidential consultations to individuals accused of underage DUI in Tallahassee. As DUI defense attorneys, we pride ourselves on aggressively representing our clients in order to achieve the best possible outcome.